The Unwatermarked Queen Victoria Waterlow Issue of Niger Coast Protectorate Part Seven

My apologies for the lateness of today's post. I have been very tied up with the website and it took me a few days to catch up after a well deserved, and much needed 2 weeks off.

This week I finished off my coverage of the 2.5d lake Queen Victoria stamp from the 1894 First Waterlow unwatermarked issue from Niger Coast Protectorate. I had covered all aspects of this stamp, except for the perforations. So, this week I took all 86 mint and used examples of this stamp in my inventory and measured the perforations very carefully with my Instanta gauge. As I had expected, based on the large number of different perforations I have found on the 1/2d, 1d and 2d values, I found no fewer than 45 different measurements. Of these 45, there were a few that stood out as being the most common: the perf. 15 and perf. 14. The Gibbons listed compound perforation of 13.5-14 and 12-13 was the scarcest of all the varieties, and in all cases, the compound came in the form of two different measurements …

Off On Vacation for 2 Weeks And The New Brixton Chrome Website Is Finally Ready

I must apologize again to my readers for another break in the continuity of my posts. I had intended to resume posting last week, and to complete thiss week's post today before I go on vacation tomorrow for two weeks. However, the final content edits that I had to make to the my new website took more time than I expected, so unfortunately I did not get a chance to prepare either last week's or this week's post.

However, the new Brixton-Chrome website is now completely functional. The only thing I have left to do is migrate these blogs to it, install the language translation app and connect all the social media sales channels. I will deal with all that when I return, as well as resuming my regular posting schedule. I do apologize for all the interruptions, but I can promise you all that I don't have any other plans, except possibly to take a week in January next year. So, you can look forward to at least 2 or three uninterrupted months of postings.

The website itself h…

Posts to Resume Next Week - Almost There!

I wanted to let my readers know that I am almost finished my new website, and need another week to complete the finishing touches. So, I will not be posting this week either. However, I will pick up where I left off next Tuesday, with the perforation varieties of the 2.5d lake 1894 Waterlow Issue.
Thanks very much for your patience.

In the meantime, I would encourage you all to check out how the site looks so far:

I have added a lot of information resource pages aimed at collectors of all levels of experience. The "Getting Started With Stamps" section covers a lot of topics for beginners, and "Stamp School" covers a range of topics for the intermediate to advanced collector.

I would love to have comments about any topics that you think should be covered that are not, as I would like to include as many as I can ultimately.

No New Posts for 3 Weeks, And This blog Will Be Moving

Hello everyone.

I wanted to apologize for the fact that I will be unable to write any new posts for the next 2-3 weeks. I feel that I owe all my regular and loyal readers an explanation for why I am having to delay my posts, so here goes.

When I started out as a stamp dealer and blogger, my intention was to focus all my attention and energy on building the best stamp stock that I could, writing top quality content and getting into a position to be able to service collectors from all over the world.

This is no easy task, as I have written about many times in the past. So, when it came to deciding how I wanted to build a business online, I thought that paying a company like e-bay to take care of all the information technology, transaction processing, marketing etc. would make sense. I really thought that e-bay would act like a business partner and help my business grow, in exchange for the $500-$700 I was paying them every month. I was wrong. Dead wrong.

E-bay is a member of a growing …

The Unwatermarked Queen Victoria First Waterlow Issue of Niger Coast Protectorate Part Six - The 2d Green and 2.5d Lake

This week I will be finishing my examination of the 2d green from the 1894 first Waterlow watermarked issue and starting my examination of the 2.5d lake. The only aspect remaining to be looked at on the 2d green are the perforations, which I will discuss now.

Perforations on the 2d Green

Gibbons lists five perforations for this stamp:

14.5 to 1515.5 to 15 compound with 12-13.13.5 to 14.13.5 to 14 compound with 12-13.12 to 13. Of course, just like all the other values looked at so far, the picture is quite a bit more complicated than that. The perforations that I have found in my detailed study of these stamps is as follows:
13; 14 x 12; 13 x 14 x 13; 1214 x 13 14.4 x 14 x 14 x 1414 12; 13 x 12.3; 12.6 x 14 x 12.9; 11.714.1 x 14 x 14.1 x 14; 1214.1 x 14 x 14 x 1414 x 14 x 13.9 x 1414 x 13.9 x 14.1 x 13.8 13 x 12.2 x 13 x 12.414 x 13 x 14 x 13; 1214 x 14.2 x 14 x 1414 x 14; 12.4 ; 13.1 x 14 x 13.4 ; 12.1 14.1 x 14 x 13.9 x 1413.9 x 14 x 13.8 x 14.114 x 14 x 14 x 13.914.1 x 14 x 14 x 13.91…

The Unwatermarked Queen Victoria First Waterlow Issue of Niger Coast Protectorate Part Five - The 2d Green

This week, I explore the aspects of the next value up in the series, the 2d green. This had the most ornate design of all the stamps in the set, and in my opinion, this was the most beautiful stamp in the set.


In studying this stamp, I have identified four shades of the green ink that was used to print the stamps. It is curious to me that Gibbons does not list any shade variations for this value at all. The individual scans below show each of these shades more closely:

This is an almost exact match to the basic green shade on the Stanley Gibbons colour key. 

This is closest to deep grey-green on the Stanley Gibbons colour key, but contains a hint of olive. It is a very distinct colour that is completely different from any other examples of this stamp that is currently in my stock. 

This shade is an exact match to Gibbons's myrtle green shade. 

This is close to Gibbons's basic green shade, but is paler. 
Paper and Gum
There is considerable variation in the paper used to p…